From the Mommy Files…

A Magical Christmas

Posted on: December 31, 2012

It was shaping up to be the worst Christmas ever.

Three days prior, we were just about to sign on a new house,

When we received notice that the deal to buy our house had fallen apart.

My mom wasn’t feeling well, and all holiday plans were up in the air.

A dear friend who is undergoing radiation right now, helped provide some needed perspective:

“At least we aren’t going through chemo right now!”

She was so right.

Christmas 2010, I was still undergoing chemo for complications from my complete molar pregnancy.

I’d caught a nasty cold/cough that no doctor would treat.

I coughed so hard that Christmas Eve, I thought I was going to cough up a lung.

I ended up fracturing 2 ribs, which are still not healed…

But I digress…

So yes, thank God we weren’t going through that.

We made the rounds on Christmas Eve and ended the evening at my parents’ home.

My mom was listless. She was weak, slumped over. She looked so old.

Just a shadow of herself, she barely spoke, wouldn’t eat.

We asked if she’d taken her meds; she said she didn’t know.

Normally, she kept her pill box beside her at a nearby table.

It was nowhere to be found.

I searched for the missing pills and discovered them hidden away.

She hadn’t taken her meds in more than a week.

No wonder she felt—and looked—so awful.

We gave her the evening meds, put a cold washcloth on her head.

She said she wanted to go to bed, but couldn’t get up.

Mom lay back on the couch for awhile, then finally got up and went to bed.

When we arrived at home, the call came.

Mom began vomiting and wheezing.

Paramedics gave her a breathing treatment, and took her to the ER.

Now it was 1-1/2 hour drive for me, so my sister, brother and aunt rushed to the hospital.

I participated by phone, providing medical history and other info.

They couldn’t find any issue.

Other than refusing to eat or take meds.

She spent the night and went home the next day.

Many revelations came out on Christmas Eve night, startling changes in Mom.

I wondered, would it be her last Christmas?

I was sad, remembering that we’d lost another of her brothers, just one year ago on Christmas Eve.

Was it her time?

Now, I didn’t tell you that on Christmas Eve morning, I woke up to find that my computer had crashed.

When it rains it pours, eh?

Amazing how much we rely on these things…I was seemingly incapacitated, cut off.

A writer without a computer is like a singer with laryngitis, no?

My smartphone wasn’t being so smart either.

So I woke up on Christmas morning feeling pretty glum.

I didn’t know what the day would bring, what more bad news we’d receive.

The girls were very excited.

They went downstairs to discover that Santa had eaten the cookies and milk they left.

He’d left a note for each girl.

Our lovely Miss Boo on Christmas morning

Our lovely Miss Boo on Christmas morning

There were many presents under the tree.

The girls sprang back upstairs, shouting with glee.

“Santa was here! Get up! Santa was here!”

We went downstairs, and barely got the coffee made when they began to rip open their gifts.

We sat near the tree, listening to Christmas carols, as the girls opened their presents.

Boo looked outside, and announced with pure, unadulterated happiness,

“It’s snowing!”

It was our first real snow of the season.

It was really snowing!

The snowflakes glistened as they fell through the air, accumulating on the ground.

We probably got 2-3 inches, just enough to cover the ground and make things very festive.

It was a white Christmas!

We all went to the window to watch the wondrous display.

It was absolutely magical.

Leave it to Boo, to bring some needed perspective, to point out the simple joys.

She declared, “Happy Birthday, Jesus! It’s a perfect day for you! Thank you for the snow and for everything! I love you!”

Yes, the simple joys. A little snow on Christmas morning; smiling, giggling children; reminders of the reason for the season; and all the blessings we truly have.

All those troubles were left behind for the day.

Bebs sends a hearty Ho! Ho! Ho!

Bebs sends a hearty Ho! Ho! Ho!

We’d rediscovered the real reason for the season. 

Despite everything going on, we found Christmas Joy.

Thanks to two absolutely lovable and adorable little girls.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a goodnight! 

1 Response to "A Magical Christmas"

[…] From the Mommy Files… […]

Leave a Reply

