From the Mommy Files…

Musings of a 2 Year-old Insomniac

Posted on: August 31, 2011

We had returned from vacation that afternoon, and we were definitely still on Pacific time.

We all had trouble sleeping.

Bebs finally fell asleep, and then woke up at midnight.

She asked me to rock her in the chair.

That didn’t work.

Then she asked to come to bed with me.

I said OK.

Big mistake.

This time she was not a wiggle worm.

She was a CHATTERBOX.

I mean, nonstop talking.

I kept asking her to stop, threatening to return her to her room.

Nothing worked.

I tried to sleep anyway.

It was tough to sleep – and keep a straight face.

Do you have any idea the crazy things you hear from a rather precocious, well-spoken, 2 year-old insomniac?

Let me enlighten you.

Here we go.

Mommy, why don’t boys have boobies?

Daddies should be able to feed babies too.

Mommy, I definitely want to feed my babies.

I definitely want to do that.

That’s a good idea, don’t you think?

I gotta ask you a question!

Why are some old ladies mean, like in Snow White?

Maybe we should just stay girls so we don’t get mean.

Do you hear what I’m saying?

Mommy?!

Isn’t that a good idea?

Well, let me tell you. I don’t think men should be ladies.

That’s pretty silly, right?

I definitely think boys should just be boys, even though they are silly.

Boo says they are silly. I think so too.

But silly is fun. Silly!

“Bebs! Go to sleep!” I told her.

But Mom! I want to talk to you!

I have a lot of things to say.

And I want to ask you a question.

Did you know I found the forest?

How come there isn’t a forest here?

Do you think it’s quiet in the forest?

Do you like the forest?

Do boys like the forest?

Does Daddy like the forest?

Can we count the trees in the forest?

I told her we were going back to her room.

You can’t take me there. Cause I can’t sleep.

I want to sleep with Boo! I miss her.

The two had slept in the same bed together during our trip.

In the beginning, neither liked the idea.

Within a few days, they were cuddling, rolling on top of each other, then over each other, and then cuddling again.

Now there was separation anxiety? Yikes.

I took her back to her room – under protest.

Mom!

“What now?!” I retorted.

Mom! I love you too. Can we talk some more in the morning?

I have a lot of questions.

Does Christouli (Jesus) love me?

Is Christouli happy?

Will Christouli visit me?

I left the room and she kept chattering.

Bebs fell asleep a short time after.

And slept late the next morning.

She sure did have a lot of questions the next day.

I’ll save those for another time.

Beware of 2 year-old insomniacs.

You never know what they will say.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
