From the Mommy Files…

Words of 4 Year-old Wisdom

Posted on: July 25, 2011

They say children say the darndest things. Have you ever been amazed at some of the things your child says? That some things they say are remarkably wise, and well beyond their years? Boo, now almost 4-1/2, continues to amaze me with some of the things she comes up with.

Here are some of her Boo-isms, surprisingly wise and ahead of her time.

You have to be a nifi (bride) before you can be a mommy.

Boys are silly, and they get even more silly as they get bigger.

Girls are fun. If you don’t know that, you must be silly.

Policemen are superheroes.

Monsters are bad. Stay away.

Hold your mommy’s hand in the street. You don’t want to be hit by a car.

Wear your seatbelt. If you don’t and you crash, you’re going to go to the hospital.

There’s a prince for every princess.

Drink lots of milk so you can grow.

Everything works with love, even if you’re far away.

Always water your flowers, because it’s nice to have something pretty to look at.

If you plant a seed, a flower will grow.

If you’re good, you’ll always have love in your heart.

This one will tug at your heart strings – and it’s perhaps the most sage of all.

The other day, Boo came to see me with her favorite Barbie.

This Barbie has flexible arms and legs (at the joints) and a few months ago, had lost part of one of the arms, from the elbow down.

This time, one of the legs from the knee down had snapped off.

She showed me and asked me to try to fix it for her.

I’ve tried to fix the arm before without success.

I hadn’t thought of any parallels or negative connotations when I responded to her.

I said, “Boo, perhaps it’s time to retire her. I can’t fix her.”

Boo said, “But Mommy, accidents happen, and just because she’s missing part of her arm and part of her leg, doesn’t mean I can’t love her and play with her anymore. She’s still my favorite and I’m keeping her. She’s still a lot of fun.”

Wow. I hadn’t thought of that.

A lesson for all of us.

She sure is wiser than her years.

Leave a Reply

