From the Mommy Files…

WWF – Preschool Edition

Posted on: June 14, 2011

My sweet little ladies are embroiled in what I’m told is a strange, but absolutely normal phenomenon.

It’s an unusual bonding ritual between siblings.

I’ve been told that if no one is getting hurt, I should leave them alone.

That if they are giggling or squealing in delight, to just leave them be.

My daughters are wrestling!

What happened to sugar and spice and everything nice?

One will randomly take down the other and then just stay on top.

They laugh hysterically and think it’s the coolest thing ever.

I don’t get it.

One night, they tried this with Daddy.

One went over and just dived on his stomach.

They’ve never watched wrestling.

What is this?

One got up, and the other repeated the folly.

They howled with laughter.

At one point, I shouted, “Ding! Back to your corners!”

What in the world?

I don’t I like this bonding ritual.

Maybe they shouldn’t bond.

Then again, yes, they should, but can they do it in a non-aggressive manner?

My 7 year-old nephew, who appreciates a good rough-house, witnessed the events.

He came running up to me with a very dismayed look.

“What in the world are they doing?” he asked.

I replied, “Well, if you don’t know, how am I supposed to know?”

He roared with laughter, and then mused, “Whoa! I didn’t know girls could play like that! I gotta tell my dad!”

And he promptly called my brother, reporting a play-by-play of the event.

He put his dad on the speaker phone.

My brother, the family jokester, saw an opening and just couldn’t help himself.

He began to speak like an announcer.

“In this corner, weighing 32 lbs., lover of all things purple and sparkly, and loves to dance – Boo.”

“In this corner, weighing 22 lbs., Loves to blow bubbles and a tiny dancer – Bebs.”

“Ladies, when the bell rings, come out fighting! Remember, no hair-pulling, no biting, no pinching.”

“Above all else, remember, we love each other. Ding!”

I grabbed the phone.

“Hey! Don’t encourage them!”

I thought he’d bust a gut from laughing so hard.

“Ha! They remind me of you and our sister!” my brother chimed in.

“Excuse me?” I said. “We didn’t wrestle. In fact, she would hit me and I would take it, because mom said I couldn’t retaliate because she was older.”

I’ve always been a follow-the-rules-kinda-gal.

“Oh yeah, that’s why you never hit her. When you finally did, wowee!”

He’s referring to the day – I was just 15 – when I’d had more than enough of being a punching bag.

I gave her a swift right cross and knocked her down.

She left home for 3 days!

I was in soooo much trouble!

Funny. We are the best of friends now.

Anyway.

I have observed that the more that the girls do this, the more antagonistic they are getting.

Not when wrestling, but during regular play.

This only provokes tears in one or the other.

Sugar and spice, where are you?

Come back!

Ten minutes later, one of them will announce that it’s Princess Time.

Perhaps they want me to know what it would be like to have boys in the house.

Guess they want me to have the best of both worlds.

Ding!

Back to your corners, Ladies.

Maybe I should invest in a striped shirt.

And every referee needs a whistle.

Wonder what in the world is next.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
