From the Mommy Files…

20 Questions, Literally

Posted on: March 14, 2011

Boo is 4 now, and grows more inquisitive each day.

Some days she comes up with questions that I never pondered myself.

I never felt the need to, I guess.

Ah, yes, we’re all different.

And she’s only 4.

So the world is a strange and wondrous place.

The other day we were in the car and she began asking questions.

Boo: Mommy, why are eyeballs smooth?

I’d never thought about this. Luckily an answer came quickly.

Mommy: So it doesn’t hurt when you blink.

I was pretty proud of myself. I thought it was a good answer!

Boo: How come they aren’t bumpy?

Mommy: Um, if they were bumpy, it would feel really weird when you close your eyes!

She laughed.

Boo: You’re right, Mommy!

Savor this moment, I thought.

It’s not often a kid tells you you’re right. Ha!

It became silent.

I thought the inquisition was over and then 5 minutes later, it started again.

Boo: Mommy, why aren’t eyeballs pointy?

Mommy: How would you close your eyes?

Boo: Oh yeah. Ha ha.

Each day, there’s a new set of questions.

Another day, she was asking about butterflies.

Boo: Mommy, why do butterflies have 4 wings?

Mommy: You know how you have 2 legs and 2 arms? It’s like the butterfly has two arms and legs. That’s how he’s made. Since he flies and doesn’t walk or hold things, God gave him wings to fly.

Boo: Cool!

Before I could savor my pride in this answer, another question came.

Boo: Mommy, why are butterflies colorful?

Mommy: Um, to make a beautiful show in the sky.

Boo: So it’s like a flying rainbow?

Mommy: Something like that.

Boo: Mommy, you’re so smart. How do you know all the answers?

Mommy: That’s what happens when you become a mommy.

Boo: So can I be a mommy today?

Mommy: No Sweetie, not today.

Boo: OK, so when can I be a mommy so I know everything?

Mommy: When you get bigger.

Boo: So when I’m bigger, God will put the babies in my belly when it’s time?

Mommy: Yes.

Boo: And you have to be a nifi (bride) first, right?

Mommy: Yes.

Boo: That’s so cool! Be a nifi in a princess dress, then you can be a mommy and get babies in your belly! YAY!

Good logic. I have to be quick on the draw with this kid!

Then she began to ask when I was going to be a mommy again.

We’ll save that one for another day.

Wonder what today’s questions will be…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
