From the Mommy Files…

Cause I’m 3-1/2 and I Know These Things…

Posted on: January 2, 2011

Happy 2011!

Christmas came and went, and of course, there was never a dull moment in our house.

Usually after I put all the gifts from Santa under the tree, I fill the stockings.

I typically put a little something in my own stocking, just so there is something in there.

I was so sick this year, I almost forgot to fill the stockings.

Needless to say, I forgot to put anything in my own stocking.

I felt awful and I barely made it up the stairs to bed.

I didn’t think anything of it.

On Christmas morning, the girls opened their gifts and played with their toys.

We had breakfast, and forgot about the stockings.

Afterward, we sat in the family room, and Boo caught a glimpse of her stocking.

She said, “Mommy, we forgot to check our stockings!”

I passed her the stocking. I gave Bebs hers, and my husband his.

I remembered there was nothing in mine, so I just left it.

Everyone mused at the contents of their stocking.

About 10 minutes later, Boo realized I hadn’t looked in my stocking.

She glanced over and realized my stocking was empty.

“Mommy!” she shouted.

“Your stocking is empty! What happened?”

“Oh, it’s no big deal,” I said and quickly tried to change the subject.

Boo quickly changed it back.

“Umm, Mommy, maybe you weren’t so good this year.”

“No?” I asked.

“Maybe you yelled at me too much, and that’s why Santa didn’t fill your stocking!” she replied.

I had to come up with a quick retort.

“Well, if I had yelled at you that much, Santa would not have come here at all!”

Boo had no response for that.

We went to Christmas dinner with family.

Later, when we returned, we got the girls ready for bed.

I went to tuck Boo in her bed, and then she began to speak.

“Don’t worry, Mommy. I think that Santa was just in a hurry when he came here and just forgot to put stuff in your stocking. Remember, he didn’t finish all the cookies? Trust me. Cause I’m 3-1/2 and I know these things!”

“Trust me?”

“Cause I’m 3-1/2 and I know these things?”

Interesting.

But oh so cute that she felt she had to console me.

Guess I better watch myself.

Santa is already watching for next year.

Boo told me so herself.

Cause she’s 3-1/2, and she knows these things.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
