From the Mommy Files…

Is That a Midget?

Posted on: October 8, 2010

Wherever we go, Bebs draws a crowd.

People hear her talk and they are stunned.

“Isn’t she a little small to speak like that?”


“Is that a midget?”

These are some of the things we hear.

Bebs just started walking on her own about 6 weeks ago.

She was clearly concentrating her energies on speaking.

And singing.

She had to do something since she didn’t want to walk on her own until she was almost 18 months-old.

The doctor even commented that with her good verbal skills, someday she might be a writer. 😉

When you hear her speak, you can’t believe this is a 19 month-old.

She’s been speaking 4-5 word sentences for a couple of months now.

She’ll say things like, “Where did Grandpa go?” “Peek-a-boo, I see you!” “Look, here I am!”

I couldn’t believe it the other day when I sneezed. She said, “Bless you Mommy!”

Last week she told me, “Mommy, Boo is my sister.” She sure is.

The other day, of course, it was “Georgie is my friend!” Uh-huh.

Last night we were driving and she asked me “Where is the moon?” I couldn’t find it either. I told her I didn’t see it. She began a little sing-songy speak. “Where are you moon?” She said. “I want to see you!”Then she announced, “Mommy, the moon is hiding.”


Since she was a baby, I counted the stairs as we’d climb them – sometimes in Greek and sometimes in English. I did this with Boo too. She could count to 10 in Greek and in English from a young age, and Bebs is right there too.

She’s not a midget!

We’re all short – hey, we don’t make ‘em that tall in my village. 😉

Bebs will hold a conversation with you too.

And sometimes, she’ll sing to you.

It’s really cute, especially when she holds her arms out and starts singing, “Dolly you’ll never go away again!” from “Hello! Dolly!”, with the biggest grin on her face.

She’s been entertaining us a lot with the ABC song lately, though she does miss a few letters.

As of late, we’ve been hearing “Twinkle, Twinkle” a lot too.

It’s particularly funny to hear her sing Elli Kokkinou’s song, “Erota Mou.” She requests it every morning in the car, by name. Boo likes her songs too, so I have to have them take turns requesting a song that we’ll listen too. Bebs now says, “Hey! I want my turn!”

Never a dull moment around here.

Boo has been playing teacher, and has been showing her letters, and Bebs repeats what she says. Boo shows her pictures and Bebs will tell you what they are. She’s getting really good.

My favorite is her telling of “The Grouchy Lady Bug” story.

“Hey you, fight? You insist. Oh no, not big enough, so flew off!”

Then she’ll show you the animals. “Yellow jacket! Mommy, sparrow! Mommy snake s-s-s-s! Mommy rhino! Look elephant!” And she’s very pleased with herself as she tells the story.

She even remembers the pictures on the backpacks of the kids at Boo’s school. When she sees them, she shouts out the name of the character on the child’s backpack. Away from school, she’ll tell me something like, “Stella has Ariel.” Huh?

These kids are pretty amazing.

So it seems I have two precocious little lovelies.


Or two Chatty Cathies. However you want to look at it.

They’re fun!

It sure keeps things interesting.

Leave a Reply

