From the Mommy Files…

Tattooed Toddler

Posted on: September 24, 2010

I turned by back for just a moment, to check the dinner cooking in the oven. I guess that’s all it takes. 😉

The girls were happily playing and coloring together. There were giggles, no screams. I guess I should have been suspicious. I peeked over and they looked fine.

A few minutes later, Bebs came to ask me something, and she was covered with marker.

Yep, tattooed from head to toe.

I didn’t know if I wanted to yell or laugh.

What the heck?

I hadn’t seen anything like it for about 19 years, when I went to a friend’s party and saw his brother passed out on the couch. Some of the partygoers had taken the liberty of drawing on him with magic marker. I’d wondered how long it took marker guy to remove his “tatts”. 😉

I can assure you there was no alcohol involved, and Bebs was wide awake and a willing participant.

I asked what happened.

Boo: I drew on the Bebs.

Mommy: Why? We don’t draw on each other.

Boo: She wrote on me first.

Mommy: What?

Boo: Well, she wanted me to do it.

Mommy: Is that right? We don’t draw on anyone, even if they want you to.

Boo: Oh, I’m sorry. I thought it would be OK.

Mommy: Why would it be OK?

Boo: Cause it’s fun, and she liked it.

Mommy: Never, never, never, draw on your sister! Or anyone else!


So Boo went to time out and I began to feverishly scrub the Bebs.

I prayed they were using the washable markers.

Well, I got half my prayer answered.

The purple came off easily. The green on the other hand…nope.

It was a little green marker, which I’d stashed at the back of the drawer, that came with a craft project we recently did.

Uggh!

Why didn’t I get rid of that?

Bebs laughed as I tried to wash the marker off.

I told Boo that Daddy was going to freak out.

Boo: Mommy, don’t be mad. Don’t cry. We were having fun.

Mommy: There are other ways to have fun.

Boo: I guess so. But keep that in the back of your mind.

Huh?


Boo came over and I noticed she had quite a bit of marker on herself as well.

Time for baths!

Thankfully, the marker is pretty much gone, except for some faint green on the Bebs’ hands.

Everything came off her face, neck, arms, legs and feet. Now to tackle her clothes.

It is funny, but I couldn’t let them know that I thought it was funny.

I kinda wish I would have taken a photo of my tattooed toddler, so I could show them when they were all grown up, and we could have a good laugh.

But I didn’t want them to think it was funny so they’d do it again.

Although, something tells me there will be more tattooing in the future.

OK, now to get rid of all the markers that aren’t washable.

A tattooed toddler.

Hysterical!

3 Responses to "Tattooed Toddler"

That is so cute! My daughter did the same thing. I had to chuckle at the whole thing. It was very cute. I wish you would of took pictures. What great little girls you have.

what no pictures!!

I wish I had pictures. It was funny, but I didn’t want them to know I thought so. Something tells me this isn’t the last time. I’ll try to get photos next time! 😉

Leave a Reply

