From the Mommy Files…

Where Do They Get This Stuff?

Posted on: July 27, 2010

Kids say the darndest things.

We hear it all the time.

I wonder, as you probably, do – where do they get this stuff?

The other day, Bebs was enjoying one of her favorite pastimes – scaling the front stairs. I told her to get down. She promptly responded, “No dice!”

My husband turned and asked me, did she really just say, “no dice”? It’s not something that we say. Hmmm…

This morning I asked Boo if she was ready to go downstairs. “Just a second,” she said. So I waited a minute. “Are you ready yet?” I asked again. “Just a sec!” she retorted. A sec? Does she understand the concept? Again, something we don’t say. I might say “just a minute,” or “hold on,” but I don’t say “just a sec.” Hmmm….

These are just a couple of examples.

I’m sure there are many instances where you’ve heard your kids say stuff, and you wonder – where do they get this stuff?

The girls have been going to day camp for the last couple of weeks. I’m sure this is where Boo got the idea to be a rock star, as on the first day they colored these wooden guitar magnets. They’ve learned other things there besides songs and dances. They’ve learned to make new friends, play with kids of different ages and learned things the other kids know.

These are not bad things. I’m just pointing out that so many others have influence on our kids –their teachers, kids, people they come in contact with, things they hear.

All we can do is our best – to give them the tools to make the right decisions, and be able to determine on their own what’s right and wrong – because we can’t be with them all the time.

These examples are pretty trivial, but this is a good lesson for us moms and dads.

They sure provide some needed comic relief!

Imagine that little voice…

“No dice!”

What things go your kids say that have taken you by surprise? Think about it.

Hold onto your hat. I’m sure there’s more to come.

Leave a Reply

