From the Mommy Files…

We Will Rock You!

Posted on: July 21, 2010

Boo was dancing around yesterday and she started singing. “We will, we will rock you!” She sang it a few times then asked me, “Mommy, do you know this song?” Sure, I know that song. Who doesn’t know this famous rock anthem? “This is a great song for our band!” Boo exclaimed.

I asked where she’d heard the song.  The response:“I don’t know. But we’re gonna rock you. It’s perfect!”

So a few days have passed, and Boo still wants to be a rock star.

We’ll see who she tries to emulate. Back in the day, I wanted to be Pat Benatar. She was short like me, and she had once studied to be an opera singer. In high school, I began what would be about six years of vocal training – some classical. We were soul sisters! Ha!

I hung around with enough wanna-be rock stars, to know that’s not the life I want for my child. A wise friend – an aspiring musician himself – who ended up one of the very few from our circle to “make it big,” once gave me some very sage advice. I was about to enter college. He told me some things that changed my life. “ Music is about pleasure. Sing for you. But you deserve more. You don’t want to work in gas stations and odd jobs to eat while you try to make it. That’s not for you. Go to school. Pursue a course of study and work to provide yourself a nice living. Sing for you. Don’t leave the music behind. It’s in your soul. Sing for you, for your own pleasure.”

I took his advice, and have never regretted it. As for my friend, I wish he’d heeded some of his own advice. He “made it,” only to succumb to heroin addiction and ultimately suicide. I never understood how someone so intelligent and wise beyond his years, could get mixed up in all that. I guess “making it” outweighed any sense of judgment. He was not always a good friend, but his many words of wisdom have stayed with me through the years – much didn’t make sense to my then-teenaged-know-it-all brain, but as I got older, things really started to click in. Unfortunately, I’ve seen good people get into the rock star life and then they’re never the same – and not in a positive way. I guess I’m jaded.

As I look at stars like Brittney Spears and other “good girls gone bad” – even Miley Cyrus – I know I don’t want that life for Boo. However, I won’t squash her enthusiasm. Studying, learning and growing with music IS an amazing experience. I won’t deprive her of that. I want her to pursue her dreams, however, a lot can happen between now and the time she goes to college. I myself changed my aspired vocation more than two or three times. She’s only three – so let’s have fun!

For now, I guess we rock!

In the immortal words of Freddie Mercury and Queen…

“We will, we will rock you!  Sing it now! We will, we will rock you!”

(I can hear you singing over there! All together now…)

Note to Daddy: Time to find the sheet music. Boo will be asking you to play this on your guitar! Dude, you’re in the band!

Does this mean we get to wear big hair again? 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
