From the Mommy Files…

I Wanna Be a Rock Star!

Posted on: July 16, 2010

“I wanna be a rock star!”

Yes, Boo uttered these words to me out of the blue yesterday, as we were watching TV. A commercial came on for one of those reality talent shows, and she asked “are they rock stars?”

Then came some words I didn’t think I’d hear from my daughter – well, my mom says the apple didn’t fall far from the tree…

“Let’s start a band!” Boo uttered with delight.

A band? OK, this should be good.


Mommy: You want to start a band? Who’s going to be in the band?

Boo: I’m going to play the drums.

Mommy: Drums? I thought you wanted to learn piano. I signed you up for lessons.

Boo: I must take my lessons, Mom. I really want to take lessons! I guess I can give up the drums.

Mommy: OK. Who will play guitar?

Boo: Daddy!

Mommy: Who else will be in the band?

Boo: You will sing!

Oh boy, I better get working on getting over my stage fright!


Mommy: What about Bebs?

Boo: She can dance.

Funny, Bebs can’t walk on her own yet.


Boo: I know! She can sing the “ahhhs” and the “oooohs”!

Mommy: Good idea! Who’s going to play drums?

Boo: Big G! I think he’ll love it.

So my nephew has been recruited into the band. He’ll love it, that’s for sure. I’m not sure how my brother will feel about the drums.

Boo took a short break from the conversation, and pulled out Bebs’ little piano, that has 4 keys. She started playing it.


Mommy: What are you doing?

Boo: I’m writing songs, Mom. I have to get to work or we won’t have anything to sing.

Mommy: Where did you learn about starting a band, writing songs and being a rock star?

Boo: I don’t know, Mommy, I just do. Won’t it be fun?

My mom laughed hysterically when I told her this. Years ago, I hung out with a lot of aspiring rock stars, and once actually wanted to be one myself. My mom insists it’s in her blood. I think I’m in trouble.


While we were eating dinner, we told Daddy that Boo wants to start a band. He was stunned at the retelling of the story.


Daddy: So what kind of music will you play?

Boo: Um, we’ll start with some polka. A lot of polka will be fun! Do you like polka, Mommy?

Mommy: How do you know about polka? Do you know what polka is?

Boo: Yeah, Mom. It’s fun music, and you dance around like this!

She jumped around in a frenetic burst of energy. Did she really know that it’s upbeat music or is she just jumping because she likes to? Hmmm…


Mommy: What comes after polka?

Boo: I thought we’d do some fabia.

Mommy: What’s fabia?

Boo: Mommy, you don’t know about fabia?

Mommy: Um, no. What’s it like?

Boo: You’ll learn. Oh yeah, I’m going to sing the first song, not you. OK?

Mommy: OK. What will be next?

Boo: Maybe some samba.

This is getting even more interesting.


Mommy: After samba?

Boo: We’re just going to have fun, Mommy.

Mommy: Where did you get the idea to do this? Is it something you learned at camp?

Boo: I know all about this stuff, Mom. I’m a big girl you know.

I see.


Tonight, as we got ready for bed, she reminded me of some work she has to do.


Boo: I have a lot of songs to write. I think I’ll get started tomorrow.

Mommy: OK.

Boo: I’ll make up dances for them too. You’ll have to learn them.

Mommy: OK.

I found this incredibly amusing, though I wonder, where did she come up with all of this? We do expose her to different types of music and encourage her to sing and try to play our piano and guitar, as well as dance. I don’t think we’ve ever played polka music. Not sure on that one…


She’s been going to dance classes for a year now. She recently asked if she could start piano lessons now instead of waiting until she was 4. We have a trial lesson coming up in September, to see if she’s really ready. Something tells me she’s more than ready.


She loves to sing, and I tell you, she hears a song once, and will start singing it (sometimes repeatedly!) – with the correct melody and intonation. Whatever it is, she has a vivid imagination, and I love that she is so interested in music.


I don’t know how we will ever get to practice. Bebs doesn’t like it when I sing. She shouts, “NO!” Hey! I’m not THAT bad! 😉


We’ve discussed previously the benefits of music education.  One article states that children that study music or sing have higher test scores at school. It keeps kids calm and raises self-confidence among other things. An article at About.com says Recent research suggests exposure to music may benefit a child’s reading age, IQ and the development of certain parts of the brain. Adults can benefit from learning to play an instrument too because it helps the mind to be alert and remain active eventually helping to sharpen the memory.” It also teaches discipline, and most of all, it’s fun.


So, as long as she doesn’t start yelling “sex, drugs and rock ‘n roll!” I guess it’s all good, right?


Dude, let’s start a band!


ROCK ON!

1 Response to "I Wanna Be a Rock Star!"

This is very cute.
She sounds very musical ready.
I got a chuckle of what your youngest said.
You have some very cute, smart children.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
