From the Mommy Files…

What Do I Do First?!

Posted on: July 13, 2010

What do I do first?

Yesterday I took the girls to camp. Yes, the first day of a 3-week summer camp. They’ll go for ½ days of music, dance, art and other activities. Sounds like fun. I never went to camp, as my mom didn’t drive and my dad was always working. This will be a great experience for them.

I tried to drum up the excitement that morning, with cries of, “We’re going to camp today, woo-hoo!” and they both joined in. The camp is at the same place where BooBoo takes her dance lessons, so we know the people. Otherwise, I don’t think I would have felt comfortable leaving Bebs there, at 16 months old.

So we arrived at the dance studio, and the girls set out to play pretty quickly. Some other girls came and then the kids were told to pick one of three activities for the first session. Bebs very excitedly went to attack a huge container of Legos. Boo went for the puzzles. This was my chance to exit.

As I opened the door to leave, I felt these strange pangs in my stomach. Wow. I’d just left my kids somewhere. Other than going out and having a babysitter come to the house, we’ve really never left them anywhere. I had a moment of “my babies!” then I thought, “What will this be like when they both go off to all day school? College?” One day at a time.

I got in the car and said a quick prayer. Hope everything goes well today. Bebs has started to outgrow her separation anxiety. I hope her mommy withdrawals aren’t too bad today. Hopefully she’ll be so busy that she won’t think about it. I’m also hoping she’ll finally start walking. She’s the only one in the camp that isn’t walking. Funny, she can climb up a slide, the ladder to the slide, climb in and out of her little car, cruise the furniture and walk holding your hands – heck she’ll jump on you like she’s wrestling you – but she won’t walk alone. I’m hoping this will be the impetus to get her walking.

Boo is excited to do all sorts of art projects and sing and dance. She’s totally in her element.

For 3 weeks, I will now have 3 hours a day to do whatever I want. I have made lists of things I have to do in the next few days, because I need to catch up with work, but I find myself thinking, “What do I do first? Should I go workout? Should I go get my nails done? Should I take a nap?” Oh yeah, there is work to be done.

Funny – I kinda feel like a teenager whose parents have gone on vacation and left me home alone. Woo-hoo! I’m free (for a little while at least!)! So I guess I should be out meeting the girls for coffee and getting a manicure. Well, the next few days I must catch up on work. There will be time to play later. I promise. I won’t work the entire time.

So I’m doing OK so far – no feelings of guilt. I’m excited for the girls to have the opportunity to make new friends, learn some new things, play and just have fun. It’s good for us to be apart for a little while.

In the weeks leading up to camp, I did some research.  Was it the right thing to send them? Were they old enough? An article, “5 Reasons Why Kids Should Go to Camp” reveals some strong reasons why kids should definitely go to camp. It gives them a “respite” from TV and all that stuff, increases their confidence and more.

Yet another article discussed the benefits of summer camp. This article states that camp helps keep kids from getting bored, provides them further opportunities for social interaction, and among other things, it will allow them to expend some of their overabundant energy. The article also provides some tips on selecting camp, such as taking into account your child’s age and interests, and even to involve them in the selection process.

Now that I think about it, I guess I am at camp too. There are so many activities I can do; I just don’t know where to start. For that reason, I think I better go create my own schedule, so I can get things done too. Oh, this feels weird.

Happy Camping!

1 Response to "What Do I Do First?!"

Hi ,Maria!We’re enjoying reading about you and the girls.I can see how you feel about leaving the girls at the camp.My son,Jimmy,has gone to a camp, a few kms away from Athens.( He is staying there for three weeks).I was so anxious for the first few days if he was going to like it there,but he seems to be enjoying it so much that he keeps forgetting to give us a call.Natasha is really busy with summer classes ( preparing herself for next year university exams).She’s also doing part-time drama classes at a Drama School.So no holidays for us this month !We’re going to Spain ( Barcelona) for a week in August and then a few days at a family resort near the sea somewhere in Greece.Best wishes for a nice summer and lots of kisses to the girls.Love from Greece and we hope to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

