From the Mommy Files…

My Boobies are Growing!!

Posted on: June 10, 2010

Huh?

Yes, you read correctly. You can always count on BooBoo for some serious comic relief. I about fell over laughing when I heard the words come out of her mouth. I tried hard not to laugh at her, so she didn’t feel bad. I hesitated to share this story, but I thought you’d get a great laugh. Here’s how this went down.

BOO: Hey Mommy, my boobies are growing!

(Pause trying to keep from laughing)

MOM: They are?

BOO: Oh yeah. They’re growing, and they’re going to grow more until I look like a mommy.

Uh-huh. I wasn’t sure where this was going.

MOM: When did this start happening?

BOO: A while ago. They get a little bigger every day. Don’t you know?

MOM: Umm, yes, Sweetie.

I thought I should ask some questions to see what she was thinking.

MOM: Where are your boobies?

BOO: Over here, Mom!

She pointed to the correct place, and looked at me like I was nuts.

MOM: How do you know about boobies?

BOO: Some girls talked about them at school. I asked you before about them and you called them boobies too.

I’d forgotten that conversation. OK, this could be worse. Should I have called them breasts? Some other word? Oh well, no time for this now.

MOM: Do they hurt?

BOO: Oh no.

MOM: Do they feel weird?

BOO: No.

MOM: Does this make you upset?

BOO: No Mommy, but someday I’m gonna need one of those things you wear to hold them up!

I thought I would bust a gut holding in the laughter.

MOM: Do you mean a bra?

BOO: A what?! That’s silly mommy! It’s a thing to hold them up, like yours over there!

And she pointed to mine.

Was I really having this conversation with a 3 year-old?

Honestly, they don’t look any bigger to me, but I went along with it.

MOM: OK, Sweetie. When you’re ready, we’ll get you a bra, but probably not for a few years. They have to get a little bigger yet.

BOO: How long will that take?

MOM: A few years.

BOO: A lot of years?

MOM: Yes.

BOO: So I’m OK for now?

MOM: Of course.

BOO: That’s good. Now can you read me a story?

Out of the mouths of babes, right? I wonder when the booby conversation will come up again, and what it will be that time. I know I don’t want her to feel ashamed about her body or the changes she will someday experience. Hopefully the “true” conversation – with lots of questions – won’t happen for a while. An article at teengrowth.com says some girls begin to develop at 7 or 8, while most don’t start until their 13. So I have some time before we’ll really see some changes. Whew.

One thing’s for sure. She does keep me in stitches!

2 Responses to "My Boobies are Growing!!"

sweet little BooBoo 🙂 you’re one of a kind!your mum is so lucky to have you!we never have enough of your funny stories!we love u all :)maria and the family from greece

Thanks for taking the time to visit and read the blog. BooBoo is a neverending source of inspiration and love. Every day is a new adventure with her! Glad you’re enjoying the stories. I’m sure there are a lot more to come. 😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
