From the Mommy Files…

Tears on the Last Day of School…Mine

Posted on: June 7, 2010

Last week brought the last day of preschool. Are there supposed to be tears? Well, there were some. And they were mine.

I know some moms may “cry” thinking the kids will be home all the time for the next few months, but my tears were of another sort.

When BooBoo began preschool a few months ago, I was a bit taken aback at how involved I’d have to be, how much time I would have to devote. I said to myself, “I thought I was going to gain some time to get things done; how will I juggle it?” Well, I figured it out quickly, and I have to say, it was fun. The moms were all great, the teachers and principal phenomenal. I can’t say enough good things about them. I made some new friends, too.

The kids were awesome. There were about 40 in the program, and I got to know them and liked being there with them. I began to look forward to these times at school – helping with this or that, making hot lunch every Friday. So did Bebs, who made a few toddler friends along the way, and got upset if I didn’t take her with me to school. Preschool turned out to be a great experience for all of us.

As we watched the program on that last day of school – the kids sang songs, the 3 year-olds recited poems and the 4 year-olds and kindergarteners sang and danced – I started to cry. I was so proud of the kids. They really did a fantastic job. They learned a lot of songs for that one hour program. I thought, I kinda know now how teachers feel.

The the kindergarteners were “graduated.” Wearing caps and gowns, they all went to the microphone, introduced themselves and told us what they wanted to be when they grew up. Again the tears. More than likely, I won’t see them again, and I’ll miss them.

BooBoo began arranging play dates before school ended – starting first with those kids who had a younger sibling for Bebs to play with. Hopefully we’ll keep our play dates. Boo is having a little trouble adjusting to the change in routine, but we’ll get there. I understand that’s fairly common. I guess I am too. I miss the kids and my new friends already.

Are moms supposed to be sad when school ends?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

BooBoo BeDoux

Bebs LaRoux

frthemommyfiles

Latest Tweets

Content is registered and protected.

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected
